Words of Wisdom from Roger Ebert

Photo Courtesy: IMBD.com

Photo Courtesy: IMBD.com

I’m sad to hear that film critic, Roger Ebert died on Thursday, April 4th.  He is one of those celebrities who I was fortunate to meet in my early years as a journalist.

In 1984-85, I was a news writer at WLS-TV in Chicago.  Roger Ebert had a weekly movie segment at the station. I happened to sit next to his WLS producer.

When I met him he was nice, I also thought he was a bit shy.  One time we starting talking while he was waiting for his producer to get done editing his video package. Roger was surprised to learn I was Latina. He thought I was Hawaiian, because then I had long hair.

He knew I was a news writer at the station, but eventually I was able to tell him that my goal was to go back on television as a news reporter.  Prior to my job at WLS, I was a TV reporter in Toledo.

I told him that my dream job would be to cover the cop beat.  He happened to be one of the first who told me that I needed guts and tenacity to do a good job. He told me it was hard work, and commitment.  He also told me not to waste time being a news writer if I wanted to be a on-air reporter.

I was at WLS-TV less than a year.  I never got to say goodbye to Roger, but when I got a job in Corpus Christi, Texas, I did send him a postcard to let him know I was back on TV.  I don’t know if he ever got my postcard. Maybe it ended up on a pile of letters from his fans. All I know is that I never forgot what he told me.

Rest in Peace Roger. Thank you for sharing your passion for films and your words of wisdom with me.

Here’s a nice story produced by WLS-TV on the life of Roger Ebert>>Video

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 32 years. I've covered the good, bad and ugly and along the way have won or been nominated for 48 awards. I'm currently the VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and VP of Membership for Society of Professional Journalists, Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also a volunteer social media contributor for both organizations.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Journalist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful Tribute. A critic and man I respected even though critics scare me a little (filmmaker here) :-)

  1. Pingback: The Film Critic of Critics (Roger Ebert) | Archaic Sugar

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

