Now is the time to live a life with no regrets

Every time I drive by a cemetery, I think of the people who were buried there. Did they live a good life? Did they accomplish everything they wanted before they left this earth? Were there any regrets?

I ran across a blog from 2011 written by a nurse that revealed the top 5 regrets people make on their deathbed.  After looking at the list, I felt that I was on the right track of no regrets.

Here are the 5 regrets the nurse revealed:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

When I look at the list I think I’m doing OK. I’ve always believed in being myself and not trying to “keep up with the Kardashians.”  My parents taught me to be an independent person; to choose what I wanted to become in life and choose the career that would make me happy.  My parents were about follow your passion and not the money.

I was also taught not to fear speaking up even if sometimes it was not the popular thing to say. I know many people who hold everything in, because they’re afraid of getting fired, not being liked or fear criticism.   I couldn’t live like that and be happy.

I’ve always been good about keeping in touch with friends from my elementary and high school days. I’ve also kept in touch with college friends and many friends I made along the way in my career. And with Facebook, you really don’t have an excuse not to keep in touch.

One of the best things that happened to me was getting fired from my job in Dallas.  Ok I didn’t agree with the lame reason, but that’s another blog.  But getting fired gives you a big reality check on your life.  I didn’t realize until that happened that my life was 24/7 news. Thank God I stopped for a moment to have a kid. That decision is another blog.

Speaking at KXII-TV

Speaking at KXII-TV

I used to work on vacation. I know–crazy!  If a source called me with a story, I would immediately call in to the bosses.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being a reporter, but when you put your entire heart and soul in one job–well you’re bound to miss other things in life.

Being fired is FREEDOM. Remember that if it happens to you. Today I spend time with my family, friends, and volunteer work.  Being a freelance reporter may not help me buy Gucci shoes or a trip around the world, but right now I have no regrets.

I think there is one regret missing from the list. I think people regret not building a spiritual relationship with God.  After 14 years working as a reporter, getting fired allowed me to go to church on Sundays.

Spiritual nourishment is important no matter what religion you follow.  Sometimes that’s all you need to make you happy.

Now go out and live your life YOUR way and with no regrets.

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 32 years. I've covered the good, bad and ugly and along the way have won or been nominated for 48 awards. I'm currently the VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and VP of Membership for Society of Professional Journalists, Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also a volunteer social media contributor for both organizations.

Posted on October 16, 2013, in News Now. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

