The Texas Daily fades to black in Dallas

Many of you know that a few months ago I joined the TV show, The Texas Daily.  Tuesday I got the news that station bosses cancelled the Dallas program. Friday they will tape the last show.

That’s the TV business – here today, gone tomorrow.  You just have to roll with the changes. 

When I joined The Texas Daily I  thought it was one of the most unique television concepts in the Dallas/Fort Worth market. Finally a news-discussion program aimed at the baby boomer/generation X audiences. 

The show had former journalists and current reporters like myself on to give their opinions and thoughts on “hot topics” trending locally and around the country.  We discussed many stories that were usually given a minute or less on the evening news on other local stations.

RATINGS DECIDE EVERYTHING

Talking "Hot Topics" on The Texas Daily

Talking “Hot Topics” on The Texas Daily

The Texas Daily started 18 months ago and had gone through a few transitions. It just never caught on. Station managers have decided to concentrate on other programs on KTXD and future programs. Read more details on Uncle Barky’s blog.

Today viewers have too many choices on television.  If you don’t grab their attention in the first few months after the launch of a show – it’s an uphill battle.

Even though I joined The Texas Daily at the tail end, I’m glad that I was part of an interesting television experiment.  I thought the station did an excellent job of  putting together a team of former reporters and anchors who had worked before at other local stations.  They had experience and credibility.

DIVERSE VOICES COUNT 

(L-R) John Sparks, me and Jeff Brady

(L-R) John Sparks, me and Jeff Brady

The station also made sure the on-air talent was diverse on The Texas Daily. African-American’s and Hispanics were part of the show. The team reflected the diversity in Dallas/Fort Worth.

I have to admit, when I applied for the job I told the General Manager that I thought the show lacked the perspective of a Hispanic woman. The Texas Daily had been syndicated in many Texas TV markets with growing Hispanic populations, and I thought it was important that we had representation at the table. Maybe that got me a spot at the news desk. I don’t know. I am thankful I was able to give my views as a journalist and a Latina.

OK on to the next opportunity. Thanks for the memories KTXD-TV.  It was a fun ride!

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 33 years. I've covered the good, bad and ugly and along the way have won or have been nominated for 49 awards. I'm currently the VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and VP of Membership for Society of Professional Journalists, Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator.

Posted on March 19, 2014, in News Now, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rebecca, I absolutely love your site.

  2. Rebecca Aguilar

    Thanks Gyna! Hope life is treating you well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

