SPJ Fort Worth Chapter adds Spanish-language categories to 2014 awards contest

The Fort Worth Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists is breaking new ground in the 2014 contest area. This year the board voted and approved two new categories in the First Amendment Awards. Two  Spanish-language categories have been added:  Spanish-language General News and Spanish-language Investigative

Full disclosure, I’m the Vice President of Membership and a social media contributor for the chapter.

No one in the past had ever suggested to the board to add Spanish-language categories. This year I pitched the idea to our president Kim Pewitt Jones and VP of Awards, Tracy Everbach. They welcomed the suggestions with open arms and so did the rest of the board.

We have a huge Spanish-language media presence in North Texas with Telemundo 39, Univision 23, Al Dia and La Estrella newspapers. And then when you check across the state there are plenty of other Spanish-language media. Locally, Spanish-language news teams have done great investigative stories. They’ve also had exclusive news reports, often beating  English language media.

So a big thank you to the SPJ Fort Worth board members for adding the new categories in the First Amendment awards. Now my hope is that other SPJ Chapters and the National organization can follow our lead.

SPJFW Board Meeting

SPJFW Board Meeting


The First Amendment awards competition recognizes work that defends the freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment to the Constitution, furthers the people’s right to know how governments and businesses affect their lives, and champions the powerless and disadvantaged

Who may enter – Broadcast and print/online journalists in Texas or Oklahoma or whose work is used by news organizations in those states
FEES • $35 professional entry, $15 student entry

Deadline to enter – Jan. 15, 2014

For more information and to enter your work,  follow this link:  http://www.spjfw.org/pages/4awards.html

The awards will be given out at our awards/scholarship banquet in April. This year our keynote speaker is WFAA-TV’s Brett Shipp. He’s a multiple award winner and one of the best investigative reporters in the country.

For more information on scholarships follow this link:  Scholarship applications, deadline is January 31st.

Good luck to everyone who enters!


About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 36 years. My office is the world. During my career I have been honored with 50 journalism awards and nominations. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator. I'm currently the VP of Programs for SPJ Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also the former VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Awards and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: