Support your friends and co-workers during challenging times

I’m writing this blog today, because I have a friend who is going through a challenging time.  My friend is a reporter.

People expect us reporters to be PERFECT. We do the best we can to not make mistakes. We work hard even when we are juggling multiple assignments and the boss is thinking of adding one more.

So with that said…

Don’t run away from co-workers or friends who are going through a challenging time, especially if it happens at work. Move towards them.

No matter the situation, always be the one who lends a word of comfort and hope. Keeping silent is not a good thing. Put yourself in that person’s place. Here’s hoping my friend, the reporter gets out of a slump.

 

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 36 years. My office is the world. During my career I have been honored with 50 journalism awards and nominations. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator. I'm currently the VP of Programs for SPJ Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also the former VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Journalist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

