Do your part on National News Engagement Day,Tuesday, Oct. 7

Photo courtesy: Saul Garza

Photo courtesy: Saul Garza

Get ready to get involved in the news!

Tuesday is National News Engagement Day. You don’t have to be a reporter to be part of this event. It’s the brainchild of AEJMC; a nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals.

Although the public has easy access 24/7 to news through the internet or smartphones, studies show that news is not a priority in the lives of many. I don’t know how many people tell me “I don’t watch the news, it’s too depressing.”  And while many young people may have their heads buried in their phones, that doesn’t mean they are reading the news. A  Pew Research Center survey revealed that 29% of young adults are “newsless.”

AEJMC wants to get the ball rolling and the conversation started about any news on October 7th.  I think it’s a brilliant idea. Think about it? News touches all our lives. Whether we are learning the latest facts about Ebola or even something more light-hearted story such as George Clooney getting married.

News can inspire, educate, empower and inform.   One more thing I have to share. The more you care about the news, the more journalists have job security. I’m not in the news business to get rich, but I love being a reporter. I enjoy being the messenger.

Now get involved. Tuesday, October 7, I am asking all of  you to read, watch, like, tweet, post, listen, comment and talk about the news on this day.  Use the #NewsEngagementDay. Here’s what I posted just now on Instagram.

 

Loading

Oct. 7 Nat’l #NewsEngagementDay How will you get involved?

View on Instagram

 

If you post an Instagram, I will share it on my blog and social media pages.  Here are some ideas. Take a photo of yourself or someone else watching the news, or maybe someone you caught reading the newspaper at the park. Let’s get involved.

A big thank you to AEJMC for a great idea. I know it will be a huge success!

 

 

 

 

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 35 years. My office is the world. During my career I have been honored with 50 journalism awards and nominations. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator. I'm currently the VP of Programs for SPJ Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also the former VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in News Now, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

