Kelly Ripa returns to show says drama ‘started conversation…respect in the workplace’

RipaStrahan

Screenshot: Live! with Kelly and Michael

Live! with Kelly and Michael is the syndicated morning show millions of American’s turn to every morning. But for the past few days viewers have been caught up in the show’s drama.

Last week, Michael Strahan announced on the show that he was leaving to join Good Morning America, but his co-host Kelly Ripa had no idea. She was blindsided.

Obviously upset, Ripa decided not to show up to work until Tuesday morning. Kelly took center stage alone as the audience gave her a standing ovation and a warm welcome. I thought Strahan appeared uncomfortable.

Ripa called the drama a “bizarre time” and added “I needed a few days to gather my thoughts after 26 years with this company I earned the right.”

She said what happened to her “started a conversation about communication, and consideration and most importantly respect in the workplace.”

I’m sure what happened to her has happened to many of us. We feel Ripa’s pain.

Roll the video…


Bigwigs at ABC and Disney which owns the show have apologized to Ripa. But let’s face it, a blindside is a slap in the face and that sting is hard to forget.

Shame on the bosses who left her out of the loop. Shame on Strahan for not letting Ripa know he was leaving. Ripa helped him get on the show, and that’s the thanks she gets.

Even if Strahan was sworn to secrecy he could told the bosses “I need to tell my co-host and that’s all there is too it.”  He had an opportunity to man up and failed miserably.

Thanks Kelly for speaking up.

 

 

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 36 years. My office is the world. During my career I have been honored with 50 journalism awards and nominations. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator. I'm currently the VP of Programs for SPJ Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also the former VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

Posted on April 26, 2016, in News Now and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

