“Dropping the Mic” a tell-all book about the toxic side of local TV News

Joangel-book500

Photo courtesy: Joangel Concepcion 

Joangel Concepcion had big dreams of living a very successful life as a television reporter after she graduated from Temple University.  Fast forward to today and she is an author with her first book “Dropping the Mic.” 

In the tell-all book, Joangel talks about making sacrifices, dealing with toxic people in and outside of local television newsrooms and the emotional journey along the way.  She is brutally honest about pit stops in TV markets in Brownsville/McAllen, Rochester and Dallas. She has changed the names of some of her former coworkers in the book, because her goal was to share her experiences not to “out” people.

joangel_field

Joangel in Rochester

“Dropping the Mic” opens your eyes to what life in television news can be if you land in the wrong place or if the newsroom is not the right fit for you. Joangel walked away from journalism after four and a half years into her career. Her experiences are a wake up call that changes are needed inside TV newsrooms around the country or we’ will continue to lose good people.

Full disclosure, I contacted Joangel in 2014 when I learned she took a job at the same television station where I had once worked in Dallas. We immediately became friends and I was honored that she asked me to read a draft of her book. I am mentioned in it.

Joangel is funny, smart and she was a very good reporter. I am saddened that we lost another woman and Latina in TV news.  I hope her book will inspire those getting into the business to keep their eyes wide open and be prepared for a roller coaster ride in television news.

You can pre-order Dropping the Mic from Amazon. It officially comes out on March 31.

 

 

 

 

About Rebecca Aguilar

Journalism is my life. I've been a reporter for 35 years. My office is the world. During my career I have been honored with 50 journalism awards and nominations. I'm also an Emmy-nominated TV commentator. I'm currently the VP of Programs for SPJ Fort Worth Chapter. I'm also the former VP of Online for the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.

Posted on March 30, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

